Go Back

The International Bridge of Fraternity is the bridge that connects Foz do Iguaçu, in Brazil with Porto Iguaçu, in Argentina. Its official name is Ponte Tancredo Neves. The cities of Puerto Iguazú, Argentina, and Ciudad del Este, in Paraguay, together with Foz do Iguaçu, form the Triple Frontier.

In 1972, presidents Emilio Medici of Brazil and Alejandro Lanusse of Argentina signed a “Treaty of Intent” to build a bridge that would unite the two countries. This treaty was shelved for seven years and was only resumed in 1979 by leaders of Foz do Iguaçu and Puerto Iguazú through the formation of a Joint Commission chaired by Iguazu Sérgio Lobato da Motta Machado. The cornerstone was launched by presidents João Figueiredo and Reynaldo Bignone on January 13, 1982. It is located 15 kilometers below the Iguazu Falls, a river that flows into the Paraná River.


comment this post

Click on form to scroll